Homemade Granola – What Heaven must smell like

This year has been the start of an amazing journey of self-improvement and discovery for me. Not only have I been finding ways to improve my inner self but also ways to live an overall healthier lifestyle. I discovered this book at the start of my journey:

IMG_0021

It has been a huge help in my quest to make the majority of what we eat from scratch. Alana, the book’s author is incredibly talented and the book is still one of my favourite purchases. I read her blog ‘From the ground up’ often and I find it to be a great source of good recipes with easy to follow instructions. Here is a link to her website if you would like to take a look.

http://www.eatingfromthegroundup.com

Yesterday I made granola! I love, love, love the aroma that it creates in the house while its baking and it’s easy to make. I changed the recipe in the above book to suit our household needs. As there are only two of us, I don’t need to start off the recipe with 10 cups of oats! So here is my process and I will post my altered recipe below. Enjoy!

Here are the assembled ingredients:

IMG_0026

And here is what it looks like going into the oven:

IMG_0027

The finished product:

IMG_0029

 

The Recipe

Ingredients

5 cups of old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup raw sliced almonds

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Instructions

Preheat oven to 250F

Mix all dry ingredients, then add wet. Mix throughly.

Spread evenly on a lined baking sheet.

Bake for 1-1/2 hours stirring every 1/2 hour.

At the end of the baking time turn oven off and leave in oven for minimum 6 hours or overnight.

Voila Granola!

And we shall finish this post with a picture of Bennie the Beagle:

IMG_0032

Leave a Reply

