A Life of Love

This is a poem I wrote when I was single about what I wanted to find when I finally fell in love for real. I didn’t write it because I read ‘The Secret’ and wanted my positive thoughts to create it. I also didn’t write it out of loneliness. I wrote it because it was in my heart.
I don’t think I realized that at the time, most of my best poems have been written without even trying. Like my subconscious sorted them out beforehand and just pushed them to the forefront of my mind to be put on paper. Regardless of how it came to be, I am a lucky woman because it came true and I was able to read this to my amazing husband on our wedding day. I hope you enjoy it.

A Life of Love

I don’t want you to love me, in spite of what I’ve done
I want you to take my face in your hands, look me in the eye
And tell me that the past is just that and we will continue to live in the moment

I don’t want you to love me because I’m beautiful
There is nothing more beautiful than the sight of love
I want to be beautiful because you love me, all of me.

I don’t want you to love me because of the things I do for you
Recognize that everything I do is because I care
I want you to know that I do it all because I love you, all of you.

I don’t want you to love me because it’s easy
Life is not fair, simple or easy and at times it will be hard to find reason to love
I want you to know that we will get through it together for true love needs no reason.

I don’t want you to love me with restraint
Love has no rules, no need for moderation, and no limits
I want you to abandon all your inhibitions and love me with everything you have to give.

I don’t want love to be just a word spoken between us
Love is more than just a word; it can change, nurture and protect us
And I need you to know, that I want nothing more, than to live this life of love with you

Leave a Reply

