A rose coloured story or the wonders of video calling

 

Twelve days ago I boarded a plane and moved across the world. Bedsides the two days right before I left, the move had been relatively smooth. In other words I was really excited and happy for the opportunity to live somewhere new.  Of course I would miss my friends and family but I didn’t cry or feel overly sad about leaving them.  I figured it was just because I knew I would keep in touch. I had so many platforms available to me in which to do so. Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, the list goes on and on.  In fact for a person who generally is a bit of a weeper, I had hardly shed a tear. I had numerous going away and goodbye parties. I had visits from friends, I visited them. There were a lot of opportunities for me to cry but it just didn’t really happen.  Well at least it didn’t happen before I left.

Three days after my arrival in Oman, I was laying awake in bed, and it hit me. What the heck have I done!!? Why did I move across the world!? This is way harder than I thought it would be! Needless to say the tears came and they were big ones. I was sobbing so loudly I woke Alex up and although he comforted me I still couldn’t shake the “what have I done” feeling. This feeling carried on for a few days. I was living in the desert but I had a little storm cloud over my head. My rose coloured glasses had officially been shattered.

I did things to try and get myself out of the misery I was currently existing in.  I documented my life online for friends and family back home. I went for walks with my pup Bennie. I chatted with my friends and family through video calling. I checked out an Omani beauty parlour, that was an adventure! But in spite of all of these things I still couldn’t chase that little storm cloud away.

That was until I remembered a lesson from a very wise woman. Maybe, it’s all in my perspective. I just needed to change how I was seeing things. I realized that I could fix my rose coloured glasses, I could patch them back up and put them back on. The scary bathroom in our hotel room didn’t have to be so scary, in fact I hadn’t seen a snake in there since being here so why am I scared of something that’s likely not there. I don’t need to feel sad and miss home because I can call home and see my Mom and Dad anytime I want. Video calling is an amazing thing. In fact this whole adventure is an amazing thing and I have the ability to share it with my friends and family online. I was at the start of an amazing journey and I couldn’t wait to start enjoying it!

That’s was it, I had successfully banished my rain cloud and it was simply by changing my perspective and remembering that lesson.  Of course it also helped that Alex’s rose coloured glasses had stayed firmly in place through this whole ordeal. Steady and strong, I think he’s a keeper ❤️

6 thoughts on “A rose coloured story or the wonders of video calling

  1. Glad the rain clouds are gone…actually seeing some sun thru the clouds here for a change. You’re a lucky person to have found someone like Alex to keep you on an even keel.

  2. Happy to hear you fixed your spectacles. Expat life is big & scary at the start but you’ll find your groove soon enough. Keep your chin up, it gets better, and better xXx

  3. Hi Catherine: Your story/blog reminded me of an incident that happened in my/our life. (Thanks for rekindling it). During a very successful ministry/job in Carleton Place, Ontario I accepted a job offer for a position in Mississauga. After we made the move I was the one who became discombobulated. I had left a really good position, where we were loved and cared for, to take on a job that was way harder than I thought it would be. I had torn my family from their roots, again What had I done? It was a real challenge for me to carry on my work at all. I persevered, with Alison’s help. What choice did we have? Years later we looked back on the decision to move and knew it was one of the best things we ever did. We faced challenges that helped us to grow. We made new friends. We discovered we were better equipped to handle diverse situations than we thought. It turned out to be a very good move for our children as well as for us. It is my hope and prayer that one day you will look back on your move and pat yourself on the back and say, “That was one of the best decisions of my/our life.” All the best. Uncle Blair.

Leave a Reply

